Be excellent to each other

I have ceased to feel the least bit of sympathy for anyone who suffers due to their own actions that in any way involve deliberately seeking out humor at the expense of others.

While this might sound rudimentary to many, for me it involves the final stop for a life-long journey. So take that for what it’s worth. As my social identity was originally formed as a youth, I was the type of person who felt that emotional carnage was justified if the humor value was sufficient. This included bullying other kids when I could, teasing less intelligent people when the opportunity presented itself, and generally having a good laugh at any aspect in which I felt my target was sufficiently vulnerable.

As often happens, my disgust and distaste for my former ways has resulted in precious little patience for those who commit acts of the same sort.

And yes, I do believe their apologies are often sincere. No one knows as well as I that sometimes one must see the harm and the damage done before being able to fully appreciate the effects that their actions or words have. But I also hold that a vital component of any sincere apology involves accepting the consequences of said actions without complaint or objection.

For that reason, to the DJ who got fired for mocking Steve Gleason, to the DJ’s who pranked Kate Middleton’s nurse, and all others who casually fling insult, insensitivity, and disrespect around for a laugh as a profession, I say: Apology accepted. I’m fresh out of sympathy. Now serve your sentence, and sin no more.

3 responses to “Be excellent to each other

  1. Reading this, I was reminded of a favored quote of mine,
    “Hello babies. Welcome to Earth. It’s hot in the summer and cold in the winter. It’s round and wet and crowded. On the outside, babies, you’ve got a hundred years here. There’s only one rule that I know of, babies-“God damn it, you’ve got to be kind.” –Kurt Vonnegut
    Also,
    “Be good always, and even God will be fooled.” –Kurt Vonnegut
    Come to think of it, he said a lot of poignant things. I’m a big fan.

    • Oh, I HIGHLY recommend Vonnegut. His humor is very dry and cynical, and in my opinion, spot on. He usually focused on the absurd and made his commentary through his main character’s reaction to those social absurdities. American modern literature (the time that Vonnegut wrote +/-) is one of my favorites because everyone was so disillusioned by the state of the world. Another fun aspect of this time period in literature was that the authors were getting bored with the status quo, so they began writing narrators who were deplorable human beings that the reader was forced to spend their time with throughout the novel. A fun time to be had by all.

What say you?

